Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Flatiron Books, 2017.
©2017
Description:
407 pages : illustrations, map ; 24 cm
Summary:
Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over. But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor who she has just met, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner. Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.
Subjects:
Genre:
ISBN:
9781250095251
1250095255
* 9781250141491
Other Number:
964821202
System Availability:
5
Current Holds:
0
Control Number:
1261780
Call Number:
YA GARBER
Course Reserves:
0
# System items in:
2
Availability by Branch
Summary
<p> The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval -- Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world... <br> <br> Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.</p> <p>But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.</p> <p>Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.</p> <p>Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.</p> <p> New York Times bestseller <br> #1 IndieNext Pick <br> Publishers Weekly Flying Start <br> Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017 <br> Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year <br> Amazon Best Book of the Year <br> Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year <br> BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year <br> " The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus . Grade: A-." -- Entertainment Weekly <br> "Impressive, original, wondrous. " -- USA Today <br> "Spellbinding." -- US Weekly <br> "Magnificent." -- Publishers Weekly , starred review<br> "I lost myself in this world." --Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes <br> "Beautifully written." --Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn <br> "Shimmers with magic." --Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse <br> "Darkly enchanting." --Kiersten White, author of And I Darken <br> "Decadent." --Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen <br> "Like stepping into a living dream." --Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon <br> "Destined to capture imaginations." -- Kirkus Reviews <br> " Ideal for fans of The Night Circus , Stardust , and The Hunger Games. " -- School Library Journal <br></p>
Map It
Librarian's View
Large Cover Image
Book
2017

Add to My List